No Time To Work

I don’t know about your time, but mine is taken up more and more with projects,but not all work-related. In fact, they are becoming more about every day living, books, music, knitting, gardening, training and now the future education of my son.

The notion of getting a well-paid full-time job seems to have left me now, after living in the Highlands for 13 years, I’ve come to realise that possibly it’s not going to happen for me. Various factors come in to play here, not least because I have to take caring for others in to account, but also as someone who isn’t part of the cultural ‘norm’ here, it’s shall we say, a wee bit tricky. I’ve discussed this very problem with others who understand and empathise with my experience and the narrowness of culture as it has become in this region. By narrowness, I mean the lack of acceptance of diversity and just a very few individuals running the joint.

However, there are far more important things to be concerned with than small-minded people. There are of course, lots of people here who relish diversity, as I do and it’s with them that I can share my passion for life.

So why no time to work? Work has become pretty boring lately, I won’t go in to detail, because it is boring! I need stimulation on a daily basis and am inventing my own, with a hope that other folk will want to join in with me.

This is one project, the damned yard! I have renamed my back garden after Ivo Andric’s novel of the same name. I recommend reading it, it’s all about imagination and how it can save us from damnation. This garden is in desperate need of revitalising, part fruit orchard, part currant, some herbs and lots of sticky willie, ticks and ground elder – it’s ready for a re-vamp. I know what I want to happen in it -I want it to be a haven for bees and for it to give me lots of fruit. Perhaps even get involved with people of similar notions across the world. There is no need to be confined to locality these days.

Then there’s the writing thing, am just about to finish up the Scottish Book Trust Family Legend programme and it’s been a good experience. I still have three books to finish off and am inspired to do so by my fellow nanoers. One will be off to the publishing world this year, that is a guarantee. I have another idea, but it’s a kept secret until it comes to fruition. Excuse the pun, but growth seems to be the thing of 2011. Then there’s me – another project, but that’s another story. We plan on 2011 being a good year in terms of small successes, developments, good music and happiness-hopefully everything else will slot in to place.


Leave a Reply

