The Cut of your Jib

alan-cumming

 

From the urban dictionary: 

a far classier version of “i like your style”, originally used by pirates in the 17th century the expression refers to the forward sail on most ships. The course and speed of a ship is determined by the cut of the ships jib so saying that you like the cut of someones jib is a way of saying, i like the way you’re heading.

Phrases.org.uk:

Meaning

One’s general appearance and demeanour.

Origin

cut of your jibThe jib of a sailing ship is a triangular sail set between the foretopmast head and the jib boom. Some ships had more than one jib sail. Each country had its own style of sail and so the nationality of a sailing ship, and a sailor’s consequent opinion of it, could be determined from the jib.

I must confess to having a (clearly) unnerving habit of looking a person over as I talk to them or walk past them.

I’m not checking the person out – it’s the clothes I’m interested in!

I LOVE a beautifully-tailored pin-striped suit (for men and women). It probably comes from the days when my mother was a burler and mender and I had many rolls of worsted wool for suits to look at as she worked her way through them.

I would say that perhaps inspecting clothing when out shopping with her did it too, and soaking in her habit of looking over someone’s suit/cut with a critical eye.

So remember I aint eyeing you up! It’s your tailoring! And if I think it’s ‘darned fine’, I’ll tell you!

Leave a Reply

