A Vegan Experiment

I feel the need to try something out and see if my body likes it. For a while I’ve been veggie on and off and I think my bod has reacted in interesting ways to the changes.

For the next six weeks I’m going vegan and wheat/gluten free – all is ready – things are being made right now. It’s not that difficult – so much is available and unless you are nut-intolerant, there are many possibilities and one or two international cuisines that can enable. But mostly, vegetables and fruit are the main ingredients. It’s difficult to get vegan and wheat-free ready-made things like sausages – so they are a treat. DSCF0340

I make my own bread, mostly, and will be doing entirely for this period of time. There are pittas in the freezer, Japanese crackers and  oatcakes for immediate take-out and lunch breaks -and yes, they are all without wheat and gluten.

My cottage bread today is  spelt/no gluten/oatmeal and smells wonderful, even as I knead it. There’s an aubergine and black-eyed bean casserole (topped up with onion, garlic, celery, carrot, courgette, green beans, tomato puree, marjoram, bay leaf, chilli flakes, seasoning), to be served with a dollop of soy yoghurt. DSCF0337

An experimental fruit n root loaf of sorts is in the oven made of grated apple, carrot, parsnip, dried apricots, pomegranate seeds, orange pith, walnuts and  binding ingredients including flax seeds gluten-free flour, almond milk, rolled oats. Will see how that turns out – it has risen, which is a good sign! DSCF0339

Leave a Reply

