Tolstoy, love letters, Mondays

He’s butting in on my thinking and doing today. I should be focussing on Latin America.

Truth is, after a long weekend of brain work, I just want to watch Dr Zhivago ( I know – not Tolstoy, but YKWIM) because there’s a cold, icy, Baltic wind and a very tiny bit of snow.

I managed to find Love Letters of Great Men Vol. 1 (pub SoHo Books, USA) which Carrie reads from, to Big in the first S&TC film. That lovely line of Beethoven’s at the end of his letter – ever thine, ever mine, ever ours  – always stays with me.

Here’s a letter by Tolstoy from the collection:

I already love in you your beauty, but I am only beginning to love in you that which is eternal and ever precious -your heart, your soul. Beauty one could get to know and fall in love with in one hour and cease to love it as speedily; but the soul one must learn to know. Believe me, nothing on earth is given without labour, even love, the most beautiful and natural of feelings.  To his fiancée, Valeria Arsenev.

If you can’t find the words…

lettertolstoy

2 thoughts on “Tolstoy, love letters, Mondays

Leave a Reply

